Navigation and Content

Sustainability Advisory Council

The Sustainability Advisory Council of DHL Group is an independent external body of experts from Science, Politics, Economics and other relevant fields. The Sustainability Advisory Council advises the Sustainability Steering Board and other functions within the Group on sustainability-related issues and thus plays a key role in supporting the implementation of the Group-wide sustainability roadmap. The knowledge and experience of the Council members ensures that a comprehensive outside-in perspective is obtained on all sustainability topics and thus further accelerates our endeavors. In this way, we can continuously improve and realize our goal of being the global leader in sustainable logistics.

Suzanne Greene

Suzanne is the Global Purchasing Director for Environmental Sustainability at Dow and serves as Dow’s internal subject matter expert on scope 3 carbon emissions. In previous roles, Suzanne advanced research on low-carbon, circular supply chains as co-founder and manager of the Sustainable Supply Chains Lab at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Center for Transportation & Logistics and the Metals, Minerals, and the Environment program at the MIT Environmental Solutions Initiative. She is also part of the Technical Advisory Group of the Science Based Target initiative (SBTi) and the Advisory Council of the Smart Freight Centre, with whom she co-authored the Global Logistics Emissions Council (GLEC) Framework, an industry standard for carbon accounting.

Prof. Dr. Axel Haller

Axel is the head of the Department of Financial Accounting and Auditing at the University of Regensburg, Germany. He is also the head of the working group ‘Integrated Reporting and Sustainable Management’ and member of the working group ‘External Corporate Accounting’ of the Schmalenbach-Gesellschaft für Betriebswirtschaft e.V . Moreover, Axel has been a member of several editorial boards of national and international academic journals. His research areas lie in (international) accounting, sustainability reporting and integrated reporting.

Dr. Barbara Hendricks

Barbara is a German politician of the Social Democratic Party (SPD). She served as Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety in the German government from 2013 until 2018. Previously, Barbara was Federal Treasurer of the SPD Parliamentary Secretary of State at the Federal Ministry of Finance. Moreover, she led the German delegations to the 2014 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Lima and the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris, as well as to Marrakesh in 2016 and Bonn in 2017.

Prof. Dante Pesce

Dante is the founder and executive director of the VINCULAR, the Center for Social Responsibility and Sustainable Development at the Catholic University of Valparaíso, Chile. He is also senior strategic adviser on Business and Human Rights International Organisation of Employers (IOE) as well as a member of the Stakeholder Advisory Council of amfori, a global business association for open and sustainable trade. Moreover, Dante is an advisor to the Dutch Banking Association and to the Executive Board of Wintershall Dea. In the past, he was the Chairman of the Working Group on Business and Human Rights of the United Nations Human Rights Council, special advisor on Public Policy of the United Nations Global Compact, a member of the Stakeholder Council to the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) and a member of the Strategic Advisory Group within ISO26000. 

Sophie Punte

Sophie is the Managing Director of Policy at We Mean Business Coalition, Supervisory Board member of Smart Freight Centre and the Commercial Vehicle Charging Europe, and member of the World Economic Forum’s Global Future Council on Urban Mobility Transitions. As founder and former Executive Director of the Smart Freight Centre, a non-profit organization that promotes efficient and zero-emission global freight, she played a lead role in the industry-backed Global Logistics Emissions Council (GLEC) to develop a global standard for calculating freight emissions. Previously, Sophie worked at Clean Air Asia, UNEP, KPMG, the New Zealand environment ministry and an engineering firm on environmental management and corporate sustainability.

Prof. Jörg Rocholl, PhD

Jörg is the President of the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT) Berlin. He is also the Vice-Chair of the Economic Advisory Board of the German Federal Ministry of Finance and the Vice Chairman of the Economic Advisory Board of Deutsche Welle. Moreover, he is a research professor at the ifo Institute - Leibniz Institute for Economic Research at the University of Munich and Duisenberg Fellow of the European Central Bank (ECB). Jörg's research interests are in the areas of Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance, and Financial Intermediation.

Daniel Schmid

Daniel is the Chief Sustainability Officer of SAP and is globally responsible for sustainability at SAP. Furthermore, he is the Chair of the Board of econsense – Forum for Sustainable Development of German Business e.V. and part of the Sustainability Research Advisory Board of The Conference Board. Daniel started his career as a consultant in a CRM startup which was acquired by SAP. After holding various senior management positions within SAP Consulting across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, he became part of a board project in 2008 to develop SAP’s first strategic approach to sustainability.

Michael Schmidt

Michael was a member of the Management Board and the Chief Investment Officer of Lloyd Fonds AG and is currently acting as its Senior Advisor to the Board. He is also a Board member of DVFA, the German Society of Investment Professionals, and heads its Commission on Corporate Governance & Stewardship. In addition, he is a member of the Sustainable Finance Advisory Committee of the German Federal Government. In previous roles, Michael served on the Management Boards of Deka Investment and Union Investment, worked as investment professional in the asset management division of Deutsche Bank and was a member of the EU Commission’s High-Level Expert Group on Sustainable Finance (‘HLEG’).